Niki’s Ras El Hanout Couscous

ras el hanout

 

Hello my dear readers!

And my fascination with Middle Eastern cuisine continues with my Ras El Hanout chickpeas. Again, looking from the nutritional perspective, I cannot praise this dish enough for the high protein and low fat content. Even better, it is a speedy, affordable and tasty dish that can be enjoyed hot or cold, as a side dish for dinner or a light lunch for the summer. How do you create this deliciously exotic dish? I shall tell you!

Firstly, ras el hanout more or less means king of all spices in Arabic which I believe is creatively true as you can be so versatile with the kinds of spices you decide to mix and call your own. For this dish my ras el hanout was 1 tsp of cayenne pepper, half a teaspoon of coriander, half a teaspoon of cinnamon and half a teaspoon of cumin. I simply mixed them all together and once my couscous was done, it was mixed in thoroughly.

Meanwhile in a separate pan fry some onions which have been very finely chopped with a teaspoon of olive oil. Add your drained and pre-cooked chickpeas and turn the heat up. Season well and add your coriander whilst the heat is on medium high. Next, bring your couscous and fold it into the chickpea mixture with a fork. Garnish with chopped almonds and slivers of onion.

ras el hanout2

Happy Baking all!

Niki

Leave a Reply

