Niki’s Tomato and Basil Soup

nikibakes

Happy Thursday dear readers!
Ah…my deep appreciation for soup continues in this beautiful Autumn season. This classic and simple soup is so comforting and I just had to share my take on it with you all. I know you will try this soup not only because it literally takes 5 minutes from start to finish but the fact that is very healthy, when I enjoy this soup I feel as though it is giving me a warm hug from the inside. How does that sound? Read on…
I would like to mention that my own suggestion (which I strongly advise) is to please not use tinned tomatoes! Yes, it is tempting, it is cheaper even but you have no idea how much you are compromising on taste and nutrients for your body. All you need to do is sweat off (with some olive oil) 2 stalks of celery, 2-3 medium carrots, 1 onion and 2 cloves of garlic, all of which have been roughly chopped (it will all be blended anyway). Cook on a medium heat for 5 minutes and then add 5-8 ripe tomatoes which again have been chopped roughly. Finally, season generously  and with a hand blender, blitz away! Your soup should have a silky smooth consistency and for some added depth, by all means break in some vermicelli or other tiny pasta shapes. Add your chopped basil last for that utterly delicious and fresh taste.

t and b soup up close
My readers, I do hope you give this a go and I would hope that I meet you all one day so I can give you a warm hug myself along with my soup in hand! Smile and enjoy your weekend, you are all very special to me and have really appreciated your views and support thus far. Thank you.
Happy Baking!
Niki

 

Leave a Reply

